Frank O'Malley Undergraduate Teaching Award

Since establishment in 1994, the Frank O'Malley award is given to an outstanding member of the Notre Dame Faculty each year. This award is based upon outstanding service to the students of the Notre Dame Community. Any faculty member is eligible for consideration. 

The award memorializes a legendary Notre Dame Professor, Frank O'Malley (1909-1974), who taught classes on modern Catholic writers, Catholic philosophy in literature and the philosophy of literature, for over 40 years. The recipient is nominated by under-graduates, approved by Student Government, and receives the award at the annual Student Leadership banquet. The recipient is announced and recognized at the University's commencement ceremony in May. For more information on this award or to submit a nomination, contact SAO Programming Staff.

For more information about this inspirational professor, view Frank O'Malley's biography


  • 2016: Michael J. Meyer
  • 2015: Chris Stevens
  • 2014: Chris Stevens
  • 2013: Jason Hicks
  • 2012: Jessica Payne
  • 2011: Douglass Hemphill
  • 2008: George A. Lopez
  • 2007: Bill Miscamble
  • 2006: Josh Kaplan
  • 2005: Alvin Tillery
  • 2004: Edward Hums
  • 2003: Rudy Bottei
  • 2002: Jennifer L. Warlick
  • 2001: Pit-Mann Wong
  • 2000: Robert Pelton
  • 1999: Paul Rathburn
  • 1998: Margot O'Brien
  • 1997: John Houck
  • 1996: Vicki Martin
  • 1995: Jay Brandenberger
  • 1994: Timothy Scully